The Kingdom of Holland

We are proud to announce a new combatant has been added to the catalogue. The Kingdom of Holland...

The Kingdom of Holland  was the successor state of the Batavian Republic. It was created by Napoleon Bonaparte in March 1806 in order to better control the Netherlands. Since becoming Emperor in 1804, Napoleon sought to extirpate republican tendencies in territories France controlled, and placed his third brother, Louis Bonaparte, on the throne of the puppet kingdom. The name of the leading province, Holland, now designated the whole country. In 1807, East Frisia and Jever were added to the kingdom.

In 1809, after the Walcheren Campaign, Holland had to surrender all territories south of the river Rhine to France. Also in 1809, Dutch forces fighting on the French side participated in defeating the anti-Bonapartist German rebellion led by Ferdinand von Schill, at the battle of Stralsund.

King Louis did not perform to Napoleon's expectations – he tried to serve Dutch interests instead of his brother's – and the kingdom was dissolved in 1810, after which the Netherlands were annexed by France until 1813. Holland covered the area of the present-day Netherlands, with the exception of Limburg, and parts of Zeeland, which were French territory, and with the addition of East Frisia. It was the first formal monarchy in the Netherlands since 1581.

The Dutch contingent in Spain comprised a composite Infantry Regiment (a battalion each of the 2nd & 4th Line Infantry ) the 3rd Hussars and the 3rd Battery of Horse artillery.


New range:
AB-KOH01 Dutch Fusiliers
AB-KOH02 Dutch Grenadiers
AB-KOH03 Dutch Voltigeurs marching
AB-KOH04 Dutch Voltigeurs skirmishing
AB-KOH05 Dutch Officers
AB-KOH06 Dutch Drummer
AB-KOH07 Dutch Standard bearer
AB-KOH08 Dutch mounted officer


Online catalogue: